Skip to content
Surrey Counts — Surrey, in numbers.Local help →

Elmbridge, in numbers

People and living standards: Elmbridge

Elmbridge local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Elmbridge local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 113,747 in 1991 to 142,484 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Elmbridge council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 117,899 people in 1996; 142,484 people in 2025. 20.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Elmbridge council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991113,747
1992112,918
1993114,244
1994115,549
1995116,851
1996117,899
1997119,489
1998119,801
1999122,062
2000122,509
2001122,709
2002123,784
2003124,990
2004125,677
2005127,286
2006128,763
2007129,756
2008129,908
2009129,991
2010130,937
2011131,428
2012132,847
2013134,588
2014135,980
2015136,380
2016136,974
2017136,936
2018136,863
2019137,098
2020138,098
2021139,453
2022140,629
2023141,426
2024141,985
2025142,484
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Elmbridge council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 23,917 people in 1996; 29,244 people in 2025. 22.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Elmbridge council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199122,047
199222,142
199322,665
199423,085
199523,574
199623,917
199724,377
199824,606
199925,032
200025,215
200125,216
200225,396
200325,704
200426,068
200526,398
200626,713
200726,978
200827,124
200927,342
201027,711
201128,076
201228,552
201329,189
201429,611
201529,823
201629,989
201730,073
201830,070
201929,942
202029,872
202129,852
202230,156
202329,936
202429,556
202529,244
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Elmbridge council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 74,227 people in 1996; 86,390 people in 2025. 16.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Elmbridge council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199172,236
199271,256
199371,953
199472,815
199573,550
199674,227
199775,363
199875,471
199977,182
200077,488
200177,533
200278,472
200379,337
200479,521
200580,680
200681,813
200782,471
200882,210
200981,770
201081,948
201181,610
201281,909
201382,519
201483,092
201583,070
201683,185
201782,803
201882,439
201982,479
202083,359
202184,657
202285,063
202385,671
202486,066
202586,390
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Elmbridge council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 19,755 people in 1996; 26,850 people in 2025. 35.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Elmbridge council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199119,464
199219,520
199319,626
199419,649
199519,727
199619,755
199719,749
199819,724
199919,848
200019,806
200119,960
200219,916
200319,949
200420,088
200520,208
200620,237
200720,307
200820,574
200920,879
201021,278
201121,742
201222,386
201322,880
201423,277
201523,487
201623,800
201724,060
201824,354
201924,677
202024,867
202124,944
202225,410
202325,819
202426,363
202526,850
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 138,755 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Elmbridge · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh9,0526.5%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African1,7301.2%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups5,6884.1%
White119,50086.1%
Other ethnic group2,7852%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 130,875 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Elmbridge · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White118,12390.3%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups3,4112.6%
Asian/Asian British7,0755.4%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British1,0100.8%
Other ethnic group1,2561%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 121,936 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Elmbridge · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White114,61994%
Mixed2,0421.7%
Asian/Asian British2,8082.3%
Black/Black British5060.4%
Chinese/Other1,9611.6%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 97% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Elmbridge council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £21,460 per person in 1997; £51,161 per person in 2024. 138.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Elmbridge council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199721,460
199822,159
199922,790
200023,620
200124,024
200224,151
200324,035
200425,014
200526,224
200627,840
200729,099
200829,635
200930,087
201030,002
201130,296
201231,611
201333,184
201434,056
201536,523
201636,404
201737,410
201838,996
201940,954
202038,820
202141,637
202244,614
202348,152
202451,161
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Elmbridge council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 102.3% in 1997; 97% in 2024. 5.3 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Elmbridge council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997102.3
1998104.7
1999101.5
200098.4
200194.2
200290.9
200384.4
200484.3
200586.5
200690.1
200789.6
200888.2
200987.9
201085.8
201185.9
201287.2
201389.5
201488.3
201592
201689
201789.9
201891.1
201994.4
202084.9
202190.6
202294.3
202396.9
202497
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

61.6%

21 March 2021 · Elmbridge local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

10%

21 March 2021 · Elmbridge local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

10.8%

21 March 2021 · Elmbridge local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

2.9%

21 March 2021 · Elmbridge local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£748,000

July 2026 · Elmbridge local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,891

August 2026 · Elmbridge local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.