Skip to content
Surrey Counts — Surrey, in numbers.Local help →

Waverley, in numbers

People and living standards: Waverley

Waverley local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Waverley local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 115,149 in 1991 to 137,218 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Waverley council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 113,662 people in 1996; 137,218 people in 2025. 20.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Waverley council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991115,149
1992114,422
1993114,361
1994114,125
1995114,734
1996113,662
1997114,746
1998114,949
1999115,491
2000115,431
2001115,668
2002115,573
2003116,024
2004116,230
2005116,357
2006117,038
2007118,098
2008119,012
2009120,106
2010120,957
2011121,754
2012122,173
2013123,121
2014123,839
2015124,436
2016124,949
2017125,138
2018125,159
2019125,691
2020126,260
2021128,880
2022130,464
2023133,183
2024134,737
2025137,218
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Waverley council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 21,817 people in 1996; 25,276 people in 2025. 15.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Waverley council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199122,416
199222,317
199322,425
199422,124
199522,240
199621,817
199721,916
199821,887
199922,274
200022,278
200122,341
200222,229
200322,358
200422,486
200522,707
200622,977
200723,292
200823,492
200923,671
201023,906
201124,043
201224,120
201324,322
201424,409
201524,380
201624,514
201724,355
201824,376
201924,263
202024,164
202124,557
202225,129
202325,431
202425,424
202525,276
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Waverley council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 71,516 people in 1996; 81,320 people in 2025. 13.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Waverley council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199172,193
199271,651
199371,506
199471,550
199572,090
199671,516
199772,468
199872,695
199972,947
200072,959
200172,895
200272,789
200372,894
200472,795
200572,608
200672,877
200773,329
200873,394
200973,657
201073,626
201173,658
201273,187
201373,347
201473,299
201573,635
201673,791
201773,907
201873,736
201973,821
202074,313
202176,150
202276,502
202378,389
202479,400
202581,320
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Waverley council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 20,329 people in 1996; 30,622 people in 2025. 50.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Waverley council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199120,540
199220,454
199320,430
199420,451
199520,404
199620,329
199720,362
199820,367
199920,270
200020,194
200120,432
200220,555
200320,772
200420,949
200521,042
200621,184
200721,477
200822,126
200922,778
201023,425
201124,053
201224,866
201325,452
201426,131
201526,421
201626,644
201726,876
201827,047
201927,607
202027,783
202128,173
202228,833
202329,363
202429,913
202530,622
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 128,226 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Waverley · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh3,6252.8%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African8870.7%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups2,8462.2%
White120,08893.7%
Other ethnic group7800.6%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 121,572 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Waverley · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White116,71796%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups1,6231.3%
Asian/Asian British2,2831.9%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British5380.4%
Other ethnic group4110.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 115,665 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Waverley · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White112,65097.4%
Mixed9650.8%
Asian/Asian British8530.7%
Black/Black British3610.3%
Chinese/Other8360.7%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 56.4% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Waverley council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £16,941 per person in 1997; £40,616 per person in 2024. 139.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Waverley council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199716,941
199817,522
199918,086
200018,729
200119,061
200219,412
200319,541
200420,257
200521,559
200623,012
200724,018
200824,342
200924,275
201024,461
201124,716
201225,907
201327,178
201428,058
201530,077
201630,035
201730,673
201832,690
201933,094
202032,177
202134,167
202236,431
202338,813
202440,616
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Waverley council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 59.7% in 1997; 56.4% in 2024. 3.3 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Waverley council area: full reviewed history
Period%
199759.7
199861.8
199959.9
200057.3
200154.1
200253.4
200349.9
200449.3
200553.4
200657.1
200756.5
200854.6
200951.6
201051.5
201151.7
201253.4
201355.2
201455.2
201558.1
201656
201755.7
201860.2
201957.1
202053.3
202156.4
202258.6
202358.7
202456.4
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

58.6%

21 March 2021 · Waverley local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

10.5%

21 March 2021 · Waverley local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

11.4%

21 March 2021 · Waverley local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

3.2%

21 March 2021 · Waverley local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£553,000

July 2026 · Waverley local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,459

August 2026 · Waverley local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.