Skip to content
Surrey Counts — Surrey, in numbers.Local help →

Epsom and Ewell, in numbers

People and living standards: Epsom and Ewell

Epsom and Ewell local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Epsom and Ewell local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 67,348 in 1991 to 83,370 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Epsom and Ewell council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 66,470 people in 1996; 83,370 people in 2025. 25.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Epsom and Ewell council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199167,348
199267,598
199367,344
199467,120
199566,858
199666,470
199766,518
199866,651
199967,278
200067,233
200167,077
200267,554
200367,738
200468,386
200569,172
200670,028
200771,337
200872,514
200973,106
201074,278
201175,191
201276,148
201377,334
201478,456
201578,890
201679,386
201779,862
201880,121
201980,685
202081,197
202181,006
202281,404
202382,653
202483,179
202583,370
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Epsom and Ewell council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 12,541 people in 1996; 16,529 people in 2025. 31.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Epsom and Ewell council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199112,285
199212,470
199312,582
199412,554
199512,556
199612,541
199712,578
199812,640
199912,827
200012,874
200112,861
200213,018
200313,095
200413,211
200513,363
200613,616
200713,953
200814,149
200914,270
201014,573
201114,712
201214,968
201315,169
201415,463
201515,490
201615,678
201715,898
201816,023
201916,200
202016,362
202116,260
202216,514
202316,748
202416,714
202516,529
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Epsom and Ewell council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 42,323 people in 1996; 51,505 people in 2025. 21.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Epsom and Ewell council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199142,775
199242,989
199342,827
199442,800
199542,601
199642,323
199742,390
199842,505
199943,052
200043,032
200142,921
200243,216
200343,377
200443,814
200544,402
200644,995
200745,789
200846,498
200946,738
201047,357
201147,786
201248,058
201348,641
201449,174
201549,394
201649,508
201749,602
201849,598
201949,934
202050,200
202150,066
202250,062
202350,936
202451,340
202551,505
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Epsom and Ewell council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 11,606 people in 1996; 15,336 people in 2025. 32.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Epsom and Ewell council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199112,288
199212,139
199311,935
199411,766
199511,701
199611,606
199711,550
199811,506
199911,399
200011,327
200111,295
200211,320
200311,266
200411,361
200511,407
200611,417
200711,595
200811,867
200912,098
201012,348
201112,693
201213,122
201313,524
201413,819
201514,006
201614,200
201714,362
201814,500
201914,551
202014,635
202114,680
202214,828
202314,969
202415,125
202515,336
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 80,937 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Epsom and Ewell · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh9,23311.4%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African1,5691.9%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups3,5504.4%
White64,31279.5%
Other ethnic group2,2732.8%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 75,102 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Epsom and Ewell · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White64,50285.9%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups1,9222.6%
Asian/Asian British6,4848.6%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British1,1281.5%
Other ethnic group1,0661.4%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 67,059 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Epsom and Ewell · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White61,24891.3%
Mixed1,1971.8%
Asian/Asian British2,5483.8%
Black/Black British6210.9%
Chinese/Other1,4452.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 28.8% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Epsom and Ewell council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £15,220 per person in 1997; £33,443 per person in 2024. 119.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Epsom and Ewell council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199715,220
199815,923
199916,528
200017,238
200117,702
200218,009
200318,209
200418,725
200519,684
200621,074
200721,797
200821,813
200921,668
201021,790
201122,057
201222,952
201323,770
201424,128
201526,009
201626,254
201726,806
201827,318
201927,635
202026,721
202127,942
202229,475
202331,129
202433,443
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Epsom and Ewell council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 43.4% in 1997; 28.8% in 2024. 14.6 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Epsom and Ewell council area: full reviewed history
Period%
199743.4
199847.1
199946.1
200044.8
200143.1
200242.3
200339.7
200438
200540
200643.9
200742
200838.5
200935.3
201034.9
201135.4
201235.9
201335.7
201433.4
201536.7
201636.3
201736.1
201833.8
201931.1
202027.3
202127.9
202228.4
202327.3
202428.8
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

61.8%

21 March 2021 · Epsom and Ewell local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

11.8%

21 March 2021 · Epsom and Ewell local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

12.8%

21 March 2021 · Epsom and Ewell local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

3.1%

21 March 2021 · Epsom and Ewell local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£568,000

July 2026 · Epsom and Ewell local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,690

August 2026 · Epsom and Ewell local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.