Skip to content
Surrey Counts — Surrey, in numbers.Local help →

Runnymede, in numbers

People and living standards: Runnymede

Runnymede local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Runnymede local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 74,253 in 1991 to 93,013 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Runnymede council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 75,634 people in 1996; 93,013 people in 2025. 23% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Runnymede council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199174,253
199274,372
199374,491
199474,567
199575,124
199675,634
199775,628
199876,539
199977,069
200077,738
200178,053
200277,649
200377,550
200476,948
200577,018
200677,169
200778,330
200878,694
200979,373
201080,283
201180,501
201281,261
201382,229
201482,874
201583,730
201684,725
201784,920
201885,538
201986,660
202087,200
202187,830
202289,320
202391,422
202492,321
202593,013
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Runnymede council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 13,723 people in 1996; 15,785 people in 2025. 15% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Runnymede council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199112,958
199213,058
199313,212
199413,469
199513,593
199613,723
199713,747
199813,887
199913,768
200013,870
200113,777
200213,420
200313,295
200413,152
200513,073
200613,116
200713,266
200813,366
200913,547
201013,776
201113,918
201214,252
201314,406
201414,568
201514,661
201614,834
201714,897
201814,995
201915,110
202015,273
202115,375
202215,535
202315,776
202415,933
202515,785
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Runnymede council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 49,452 people in 1996; 60,927 people in 2025. 23.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Runnymede council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199149,564
199249,478
199349,311
199448,982
199549,253
199649,452
199749,362
199849,976
199950,713
200051,288
200151,677
200251,590
200351,577
200451,111
200551,203
200651,362
200752,243
200852,378
200952,620
201053,103
201153,016
201253,047
201353,593
201453,775
201554,458
201655,198
201755,312
201855,819
201956,574
202056,836
202157,247
202258,443
202360,134
202460,545
202560,927
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Runnymede council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 12,459 people in 1996; 16,301 people in 2025. 30.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Runnymede council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199111,731
199211,836
199311,968
199412,116
199512,278
199612,459
199712,519
199812,676
199912,588
200012,580
200112,599
200212,639
200312,678
200412,685
200512,742
200612,691
200712,821
200812,950
200913,206
201013,404
201113,567
201213,962
201314,230
201414,531
201514,611
201614,693
201714,711
201814,724
201914,976
202015,091
202115,208
202215,342
202315,512
202415,843
202516,301
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 88,079 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Runnymede · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh8,1409.2%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African1,5911.8%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups3,1133.5%
White73,55783.5%
Other ethnic group1,6781.9%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 80,510 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Runnymede · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White71,63389%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups1,6712.1%
Asian/Asian British5,5616.9%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British8621.1%
Other ethnic group7831%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 78,033 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Runnymede · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White74,12295%
Mixed9241.2%
Asian/Asian British1,5201.9%
Black/Black British3670.5%
Chinese/Other1,1001.4%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 24.8% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Runnymede council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £13,330 per person in 1997; £32,396 per person in 2024. 143% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Runnymede council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199713,330
199813,715
199914,501
200014,696
200115,027
200215,478
200315,731
200416,422
200517,356
200618,530
200719,111
200819,316
200919,693
201019,565
201119,976
201220,648
201321,720
201422,522
201523,796
201623,835
201724,685
201826,254
201926,848
202026,400
202127,705
202229,450
202330,586
202432,396
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Runnymede council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 25.6% in 1997; 24.8% in 2024. 0.8 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Runnymede council area: full reviewed history
Period%
199725.6
199826.7
199928.2
200023.5
200121.5
200222.3
200320.7
200421
200523.5
200626.5
200724.5
200822.6
200923
201021.1
201122.6
201222.2
201324
201424.5
201525.1
201623.8
201725.3
201828.6
201927.4
202025.8
202126.8
202228.2
202325.1
202424.8
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

58.4%

21 March 2021 · Runnymede local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

14.1%

21 March 2021 · Runnymede local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

14.5%

21 March 2021 · Runnymede local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

3.6%

21 March 2021 · Runnymede local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£477,000

July 2026 · Runnymede local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,586

August 2026 · Runnymede local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.