Skip to content
Surrey Counts — Surrey, in numbers.Local help →

Tandridge, in numbers

People and living standards: Tandridge

Tandridge local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Tandridge local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 74,859 in 1991 to 90,322 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Tandridge council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 76,044 people in 1996; 90,322 people in 2025. 18.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Tandridge council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199174,859
199275,072
199375,379
199475,627
199575,654
199676,044
199776,907
199877,329
199978,530
200078,997
200179,332
200278,906
200379,002
200479,050
200579,373
200680,027
200780,983
200881,543
200982,099
201082,756
201183,178
201283,527
201384,477
201485,121
201585,527
201685,901
201786,457
201886,525
201986,923
202087,248
202188,127
202288,834
202389,771
202490,058
202590,322
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Tandridge council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 15,110 people in 1996; 17,008 people in 2025. 12.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Tandridge council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199114,655
199214,751
199314,858
199415,007
199515,039
199615,110
199715,266
199815,361
199915,844
200015,945
200116,069
200216,086
200316,096
200416,091
200516,032
200616,031
200716,034
200816,000
200916,079
201016,112
201116,092
201216,088
201316,163
201416,253
201516,349
201616,555
201716,744
201816,839
201916,978
202016,954
202117,063
202217,386
202317,383
202417,076
202517,008
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Tandridge council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 47,851 people in 1996; 53,565 people in 2025. 11.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Tandridge council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199147,775
199247,686
199347,746
199447,743
199547,598
199647,851
199748,486
199848,761
199949,396
200049,723
200149,944
200249,445
200349,442
200449,401
200549,634
200650,237
200750,934
200851,208
200951,285
201051,554
201151,607
201251,409
201351,737
201451,867
201551,954
201651,880
201752,040
201851,810
201951,786
202052,087
202152,589
202252,703
202353,322
202453,585
202553,565
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Tandridge council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 13,083 people in 1996; 19,749 people in 2025. 51% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Tandridge council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199112,429
199212,635
199312,775
199412,877
199513,017
199613,083
199713,155
199813,207
199913,290
200013,329
200113,319
200213,375
200313,464
200413,558
200513,707
200613,759
200714,015
200814,335
200914,735
201015,090
201115,479
201216,030
201316,577
201417,001
201517,224
201617,466
201717,673
201817,876
201918,159
202018,207
202118,475
202218,745
202319,066
202419,397
202519,749
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 87,877 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Tandridge · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh3,2713.7%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African1,9292.2%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups3,3313.8%
White78,58489.4%
Other ethnic group7620.9%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 82,998 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Tandridge · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White77,88093.8%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups1,7892.2%
Asian/Asian British2,1642.6%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British8821.1%
Other ethnic group2830.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 79,267 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Tandridge · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White76,84296.9%
Mixed8401.1%
Asian/Asian British7561%
Black/Black British3770.5%
Chinese/Other4520.6%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 37.1% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Tandridge council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £15,179 per person in 1997; £35,590 per person in 2024. 134.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Tandridge council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199715,179
199815,687
199916,206
200016,578
200116,900
200217,398
200317,781
200418,348
200519,418
200620,838
200721,742
200822,010
200921,901
201022,139
201122,310
201223,355
201324,510
201425,032
201526,835
201626,963
201727,506
201828,881
201930,127
202028,865
202130,124
202231,584
202333,594
202435,590
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Tandridge council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 43.1% in 1997; 37.1% in 2024. 6 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Tandridge council area: full reviewed history
Period%
199743.1
199844.9
199943.3
200039.3
200136.6
200237.5
200336.4
200435.2
200538.1
200642.3
200741.7
200839.8
200936.8
201037.1
201136.9
201238.3
201339.9
201438.4
201541.1
201640
201739.6
201841.5
201943
202037.5
202137.9
202237.5
202337.4
202437.1
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

60.1%

21 March 2021 · Tandridge local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

12.4%

21 March 2021 · Tandridge local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

13.8%

21 March 2021 · Tandridge local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

3.8%

21 March 2021 · Tandridge local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£483,000

July 2026 · Tandridge local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,637

August 2026 · Tandridge local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.