Skip to content
Surrey Counts — Surrey, in numbers.Local help →

Woking, in numbers

People and living standards: Woking

Woking local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Woking local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 86,633 in 1991 to 106,197 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Woking council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 88,177 people in 1996; 106,197 people in 2025. 20.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Woking council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199186,633
199286,791
199387,031
199487,489
199588,312
199688,177
199788,393
199888,329
199989,579
200089,477
200189,893
200289,289
200389,646
200489,798
200591,072
200692,838
200794,397
200895,530
200996,597
201098,201
201199,493
2012100,565
2013101,831
2014102,588
2015103,286
2016104,233
2017104,299
2018104,510
2019104,423
2020103,882
2021103,900
2022104,598
2023105,439
2024105,981
2025106,197
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Woking council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 18,698 people in 1996; 20,395 people in 2025. 9.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Woking council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199118,034
199218,221
199318,435
199418,601
199518,746
199618,698
199718,649
199818,631
199918,806
200018,591
200118,516
200218,242
200318,314
200418,222
200518,277
200618,466
200718,685
200818,910
200919,133
201019,662
201120,035
201220,392
201320,812
201420,894
201521,184
201621,460
201721,443
201821,418
201921,355
202021,165
202120,824
202220,828
202320,766
202420,658
202520,395
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Woking council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 56,989 people in 1996; 67,262 people in 2025. 18% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Woking council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199156,343
199256,276
199356,290
199456,579
199557,187
199656,989
199757,182
199857,109
199957,941
200057,926
200158,267
200257,915
200358,140
200458,281
200559,393
200660,865
200762,074
200862,757
200963,253
201063,901
201164,530
201264,785
201365,206
201465,539
201565,700
201666,115
201766,149
201866,124
201965,916
202065,561
202165,773
202266,129
202366,737
202467,183
202567,262
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Woking council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 12,490 people in 1996; 18,540 people in 2025. 48.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Woking council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199112,256
199212,294
199312,306
199412,309
199512,379
199612,490
199712,562
199812,589
199912,832
200012,960
200113,110
200213,132
200313,192
200413,295
200513,402
200613,507
200713,638
200813,863
200914,211
201014,638
201114,928
201215,388
201315,813
201416,155
201516,402
201616,658
201716,707
201816,968
201917,152
202017,156
202117,303
202217,641
202317,936
202418,140
202518,540
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 103,943 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Woking · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh14,74114.2%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African1,8791.8%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups3,6143.5%
White81,52978.4%
Other ethnic group2,1802.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 99,198 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Woking · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White82,92683.6%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups2,3352.4%
Asian/Asian British11,46211.6%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British1,3831.4%
Other ethnic group1,0921.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 89,840 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Woking · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White82,00191.3%
Mixed1,2281.4%
Asian/Asian British5,2195.8%
Black/Black British4470.5%
Chinese/Other9451.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 34.3% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Woking council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £14,990 per person in 1997; £34,875 per person in 2024. 132.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Woking council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199714,990
199815,586
199916,300
200016,941
200117,209
200217,709
200317,937
200418,552
200519,518
200620,577
200721,170
200821,265
200921,416
201021,318
201121,329
201222,315
201323,330
201424,173
201525,755
201625,834
201726,839
201827,619
201928,142
202027,159
202128,534
202230,467
202332,870
202434,875
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Woking council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 41.3% in 1997; 34.3% in 2024. 7 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Woking council area: full reviewed history
Period%
199741.3
199843.9
199944.1
200042.3
200139.1
200240
200337.6
200436.7
200538.8
200640.5
200738
200835
200933.7
201032
201130.9
201232.1
201333.2
201433.7
201535.4
201634.2
201736.2
201835.3
201933.6
202029.4
202130.6
202232.7
202334.4
202434.3
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

63.6%

21 March 2021 · Woking local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

12.8%

21 March 2021 · Woking local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

13.2%

21 March 2021 · Woking local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

3.4%

21 March 2021 · Woking local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£440,000

July 2026 · Woking local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,620

August 2026 · Woking local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.