The local plans, investments and decisions worth following.
4 selected records checked against official sources. A plan is not a completed project; each record shows the stage its source establishes.
Sheerwater
Sheerwater homes and next-stage refurbishment
The revised approach retains council homes for refurbishment and uses land sales for other redevelopment.
Earlier homes and facilities delivered; further council-led new building replaced by refurbishment approach · source does not state a status date
Responsible body: Woking Borough Council
What the source says: The page distinguishes delivered development from estimated future refurbishment. Private redevelopment is separate from council housing.
Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?
Progress, funding and source
- Cost
- Not established by the evidence checked.
- Funding
- Not established by the evidence checked.
- Area covered
- Named scheme or programme area only. No official impact boundary has been matched to current wards; a nearby location is not evidence that a whole ward benefits.
No verified ward footprint is assigned.
Sheerwater regeneration →
Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.
Questions for the next progress report
- What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
- Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
- Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
- What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?
Make Sheerwater’s revised housing programme clear →
Make room for homes people can afford →
Target support where disadvantages overlap →
How to track delivery →Woking Leisure Centre
Woking Leisure Centre refurbishment
The centre has renewed exercise facilities, including a new specialist studio.
New Reformer studio opened 11 May 2026 · evidence dated 2026-05-12
Responsible body: Everyone Active and Woking Borough Council
What the source says: The opening is confirmed. Promotional health claims and attendance benefits are not adopted as measured outcomes.
Next thing to establish: What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
Progress, funding and source
- Cost
- Not established by the evidence checked.
- Funding
- Not established by the evidence checked.
- Area covered
- Named scheme or programme area only. No official impact boundary has been matched to current wards; a nearby location is not evidence that a whole ward benefits.
No verified ward footprint is assigned.
Woking Leisure Centre studio opening →
Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.
Questions for the next progress report
- Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
- Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
- What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?
Make the renewed leisure space useful to more residents →
Target support where disadvantages overlap →
How to track delivery →Woking Borough Council finances
Government repayment of Woking council debt
Government has begun the agreed repayment process for specified public loans.
First two payments confirmed in September 2026; full programme not yet completed · evidence dated 2026-09-08
Responsible body: UK Government, Woking Borough Council and commissioners
What the source says: The answer confirms payments on 1 and 3 September towards the £500 million commitment. It does not state that all Woking debt is cleared.
Next thing to establish: What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
Progress, funding and source
- Cost
- Not established by the evidence checked.
- Funding
- Not established by the evidence checked.
- Area covered
- Named scheme or programme area only. No official impact boundary has been matched to current wards; a nearby location is not evidence that a whole ward benefits.
No verified ward footprint is assigned.
Ministerial answer on Woking loan repayments →
Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.
Questions for the next progress report
- Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
- Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
- What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?
Keep remaining financial obligations visible →
Connect local skills to local opportunities →
How to track delivery →